Welcome to Brooks, Maine
“The Heart of Waldo County“
The Town of Brooks was incorporated on December 10, 1816 and was named after Governor John Brooks of Massachusetts. It was during his administration that Maine became the 23rd state, ceasing to be a territory of Massachusetts. Painting by Gilbert Stuart circa 1820.
When in Brooks, visit the Pilley House (pictured above), home of the Brooks Historical Society Museum, and continue to visit our website for more information about the rich history of our rural Maine town.
The Pilley House reflects the lifestyle of the prominent Brooks pharmacist, Mr. Albert Pilley, his wife Esther, and only child Louise. Many of the original furnishings remain in the kitchen, dining room, parlor, and bedroom.
Displays of the early 1900’s include Brooks schools, ladies’ fashions, amusements, buttons and apothecary and advertising from Pilley’s Drug Store. One exhibit shows the military history of Brooks.
Also featured are albums, scrapbooks, yearbooks, town reports and other memorabilia donated by Brooks residents. Guests are encouraged to peruse these materials.
The Museum is closed during the winter months. Three or four Open Houses are scheduled during the summer and fall and the Museum may also be visited by appointment. Please call 207-322-6915 to speak with President Paula Miron if you would like to set up an appointment or have any questions.